KENTON COOL Summiting Everest 11 times is just one of the feats of endurance that this elite mountaineer has achieved

British mountaineer, alpinist and mountain guide Kenton Cool depends on Land Rover vehicles to deliver him to train in harsh conditions and challenging terrain.

Kenton Cool in front of a snowy mountain


The vehicle proved its mettle in near blizzard treacherous conditions during a training week in Norway before climbing Everest. "By using the Terrain Response® snow and gravel mode I had the confidence to go as close to the edge of the mountain as possible, enabling the team to make the most of the short daylight hours to climb. This was critical in our preparation plans to conquer Everest."

He adds, "The team did fight over who would drive, especially when I let slip about the heated steering wheel. Ice climbing can be brutal on the fingers, climbers call it 'Hot Aches', a searing pain that occurs when the fingers get seriously cold then warm up, wrapping cold hands around the heated steering wheel was heaven.

"However, one of the best things about the Range Rover Evoque is the panoramic roof which enabled us to catch our first glimpse of the Northern Lights. I had never experienced the Lights before and we watched this spectacular show from the best seat in the world."

© 2016 Jaguar Land Rover Canada ULC

Fuel estimates are based on Government of Canada's new 5 cycle testing methods. Actual fuel consumption may vary. Refer to the Government of Canada Fuel Consumption Guide.

KENTON COOL Le fait d'avoir gravi le mont Everest onze fois est l'un des exploits d'endurance que cet alpiniste émérite a réalisé.

L'alpiniste et guide de montagne britannique Kenton Cool compte sur les véhicules Land Rover pour l'emmener s'entraîner dans des conditions difficiles et sur des terrains accidentés.

Kenton Cool devant une montagne enneigée


Le véhicule a démontré sa fougue dans des conditions difficiles proches du blizzard, lors d'une semaine d'entraînement en Norvège, avant l'ascension du mont Everest. « En utilisant le mode neige et gravier du dispositif Terrain Response®, j'étais sûr de pouvoir m'approcher le plus possible de la montagne, et de permettre à l'équipe de profiter au maximum des courtes heures de clarté pour effectuer son ascension. C'était essentiel dans nos préparatifs en vue de conquérir l'Éverest. »

Il ajoute : Il ajoute : « L'équipe se disputait pour savoir qui conduirait, et particulièrement lorsque j'ai parlé du volant chauffant. L'escalade dans la glace peut être brutale pour les doigts. Les alpinistes appellent cela "Hot Aches", une douleur violente qui se produit lorsque les doigts se réchauffent après avoir eu très froid. Les poser sur le volant chauffant, c'était le paradis sur Terre. »

« Cela dit, l'un des avantages du Range Rover Evoque, c'est son toit panoramique qui nous a permis d'apercevoir pour la première fois des aurores boréales. Je n'en avais jamais vues auparavant et nous avons assisté à ce spectacle magnifique à partir du meilleur siège du monde. »

© 2016 Jaguar Land Rover Canada ULC

Les estimations de consommation de carburant sont établies selon les nouvelles méthodes d’essai à 5 cycles du gouvernement du Canada. La consommation réelle de carburant peut varier. Veuillez consulter le Guide de consommation de carburant du gouvernement du Canada.