MONTY HALLS The intrepid marine explorer, conservationist and film maker is supported by his unique Defender dive centre

Best known for his BBC Great Escape series, in which he lives and works in challenging remote areas, Monty Halls leads diving expeditions for adventurers and scientists, and supports conservation and military charities.

Monty Hall in front of a lake surrounding.

In 2013, he presented Land Rover with an unprecedented challenge. His brief was for "a one-stop, go-anywhere, cope-with-anything dive centre and laboratory". Special Vehicle Operations customised a dual purpose Land Rover Defender to provide not just transport for his diving and film crews, but also to serve as a base in remote, off-road locations.

Halls, a Land Rover global ambassador, admitted he didn't believe all his ambitious specifications could be met, but the team successfully created a unique vehicle tailor-made to his requirements. Just as the late marine conservationist Jacques Cousteau had his trusted multipurpose ship Calypso to support his endeavours, Monty has his unique Land Rover Defender.

Monty is a great advocate for the brand, with years of Land Rover experience gained in the field in his earlier career as a Royal Marine. "I needed a vehicle that doubles as a base camp and mobile dive centre, delivering dynamic off-road capability," he says.

© 2016 Jaguar Land Rover Canada ULC

Fuel estimates are based on Government of Canada's new 5 cycle testing methods. Actual fuel consumption may vary. Refer to the Government of Canada Fuel Consumption Guide.

MONTY HALLS The intrepid marine explorer, conservationist and film maker is supported by his unique Defender dive centre

Connu surtout pour la série Great Escape de BBC, dans laquelle il vit et travaille dans des contrées reculées et difficiles, Monty Halls dirige des expéditions de plongée pour les aventuriers et les scientifiques, tout en soutenant l'écologie et les œuvres caritatives militaires.

Monty Halls devant un lac et ses environs.


En 2013, il a lancé à Land Rover un défi sans précécent. Il souhaitait obtenir un « laboratoire et centre de plongée tout en un, à l'épreuve de tout. » Les Opérations véhicules spéciaux ont personnalisé un modèle à double emploi de Land Rover Defender pour qu'il serve non seulement de moyen de transport pour ses équipes de plongées et de tournage, mais aussi de base dans les contrées éloignées des routes.

Monty Halls, un ambassadeur de Land Rover, a admis qu'il ne croyait pas voir qu'on pourrait répondre à toutes ses demandes ambitieuses, mais l'équipe a créé avec succèes un véhicule unique adapté à ses besoins. Tout comme le défunt défenseur de l'environnement marin Jacques Cousteau comptait sur son vaisseau multifonctions nommé Calypso pour accomplir ses missions, Monty peut compter sur son Land Rover Defender unique.

Monty est un excellent porte-parole pour la marque, avec des années d'expérience Land Rover gagnées dans ce domaine grâce à sa carrière dans la Marine Royale. « J'avais besoin d'un véhicule faisant à la fois office de camp de base et de centre de plongée mobile et qui offrirait des performances tout terrain dynamiques », explique-t-il.

© 2016 Jaguar Land Rover Canada ULC

Les estimations de consommation de carburant sont établies selon les nouvelles méthodes d’essai à 5 cycles du gouvernement du Canada. La consommation réelle de carburant peut varier. Veuillez consulter le Guide de consommation de carburant du gouvernement du Canada.