HISTORY OF INNOVATIONS

Over the last 45 years Range Rover has delivered a series of industry firsts as it has evolved into the peerless luxury vehicle we know today

FIRST EVER LUXURY SUV

The original Range Rover was the first 4x4 designed to be as good on-road as it was off-road. It took 4x4s out of the mud and onto the highway.

FIRST ELECTRONIC TRACTION CONTROL

Range Rover was the world’s first 4x4 to be fitted with Electronic Traction Control.

FIRST PREMIUM DIESEL SUV HYBRID

With outstanding fuel economy and 26% lower C02 emissions than the TDV6 diesel engine, the Range Rover Hybrid became the world’s first diesel SUV hybrid in its class.

FIRST ALL-ALUMINIUM SUV

The Fourth Generation Range Rover is the world’s first all-aluminium SUV.

CULTURE

CULTURE

A WORK OF ART

Soon after its launch in 1970, the Range Rover was the first car to be displayed at the Louvre, as an ‘Exemplary work of Industrial Design’.

CULTURE

CULTURE

A MOVIE STAR

Range Rovers have featured in 1,433 films and TV shows, including four James Bond 007 films: Octopussy (1983), The Living Daylights (1987), Tomorrow Never Dies (1997) and Skyfall (2012).

CULTURE

CULTURE

THE A-LIST CHOICE

Famous people who have owned a Range Rover include Her Majesty the Queen, Musician Bruce Springsteen, ex-Beatle Paul McCartney, Sportsman Michael Jordan and Actor Tom Cruise.

CULTURE

CULTURE

AND THE CHOICE OF CRITICS

The Fourth Generation Range Rover has won more than 80 awards including Luxury Car of the Year by What Car? and Best Luxury SUV from Edmunds.com and Forbes.

/

Range Rover was the first luxury SUV in the world in 1970 and 45 years on it continues to lead the way. The latest model is the most desirable and sophisticated Land Rover ever, mixing peerless comfort with cutting edge technology to provide the ultimate luxury vehicle experience.

NICK ROGERS JAGUAR LAND ROVER DIRECTOR GLOBAL ENGINEERING OPERATIONS

FOUR GENERATIONS

FOUR GENERATIONS

FOURTH GENERATION – CURRENT MODEL

The current Range Rover model was the first SUV in the world to feature a lightweight all-aluminium body.



Last year, Range Rover became the first vehicle to feature Land Rover’s innovative All-Terrain Progress Control (ATPC) system – a world first technology designed to enhance off-road capability by automatically maintaining an ultra-low crawl speed over obstacles, allowing the driver to concentrate on steering the vehicle.



The Fourth Generation Range Rover is also available in the instantly recognizable, superbly engineered and beautifully appointed Long Wheelbase.

FOUR GENERATIONS

FOUR GENERATIONS

THIRD GENERATION (2001 – 2012)

The arrival of the Third Generation Range Rover delivered significant improvements over its predecessor in every department. Bigger and more spacious, the interior was inspired by high-end yacht designs, fine furniture and first-class airline seating. The result was one of the most luxurious vehicle interiors in the world.


Technological highlights included the addition, in 2010, of ‘virtual’ instruments. It also became the first vehicle to provide a ‘dual-view’ infotainment display, allowing the driver to keep tabs on the navigation instructions while the passenger watched a DVD. As engine technology advanced, the Third Generation Range Rover line-up expanded. First came the 4.2 litre V8 Supercharged gasoline engine in 2005, the TDV8 diesel engine in 2006, followed by all-new 5.0 litre V8 gasoline engines three years later.

FOUR GENERATIONS

FOUR GENERATIONS

SECOND GENERATION – P38A (1994 - 2001)

The Second Generation Range Rover or P38a – so named because it was developed in building 38A in the Solihull factory in the UK – arrived in 1994 delivering an even more luxurious interior, greater on-road ability and off-road capability than its predecessor. Key design features made it instantly recognizable as a Range Rover and the iconic silhouette, floating roof, clamshell hood, practical split tailgate and continuous waistline endure to this day.


Technological highlights included the addition of height adjustable suspension and an enhanced engine line-up, with a 2.5 litre diesel as well as the 3.9 and 4.6 litre versions of the V8 gasoline providing greater performance than ever before.

FOUR GENERATIONS

FOUR GENERATIONS

FIRST GENERATION – CLASSIC (1970-1994)

The Range Rover story began in the seventies as Land Rover looked to revolutionize the first ever luxury SUV. The First Generation model, known as the Classic and originally only available as a two-door, went on sale in 1970 featuring a lightweight aluminium V8 engine, full-time four-wheel drive and all-round disc brakes. Numerous variants and upgrades were introduced during its 25-year lifespan, including the addition of a four-door model in 1981 and an automatic gearbox in 1982.


Innovations continued at a pace. The first diesel Range Rover arrived in 1986 and in 1989 it became the world’s first 4x4 to feature anti-lock brakes. Then in 1992 it celebrated another SUV first with the introduction of Electronic Traction Control and Automatic Electronic Air Suspension.

/

JOURNEYS

JOURNEYS

DARIEN GAP CROSSING (1972)

The original 1970 Range Rover combined excellent on-road handling and refinement with uncompromised all-terrain capability, and subsequent generations have maintained its status at the forefront of the luxury SUV market in terms of capability and desirability.


In 1972 Range Rover became the first vehicle to complete an 18,000-mile Trans-America expedition, staged by the British Army, which included the perilous crossing of the Darien Gap in South America.

JOURNEYS

JOURNEYS

CROSSING THE SAHARA DESERT (1974)

The Range Rover’s reputation for unrivalled all-terrain capability was cemented by a number of high-profile endurance tests. The Darien Gap success was followed in 1974 by the successful completion of an epic 7,500-mile trek across the Sahara Desert in 100 days.

JOURNEYS

JOURNEYS

LONDON-SYDNEY MARATHON (1977)

In 1977, the Range Rover cemented its good name for capability with victory in the 4x4 class of the 18,750-mile London-Sydney marathon.

JOURNEYS

JOURNEYS

PARIS – DAKAR RALLY (1979 & 1981)

The Range Rover won the first Paris – Dakar Rally in 1979, followed by another win in 1981.


Then, in 1985, the diesel-powered Range Rover ‘Bullet’ broke 27 speed records, proving Range Rover’s all-round capability.

JOURNEYS

JOURNEYS

SILK ROUTE (2013)

Three Range Rover Hybrids complete a 9,950-mile endurance expedition following the ancient silk route, overland from the UK to India.

/

RANGE ROVER

The pinnacle of refined capability.

SIGN UP FOR RANGE ROVER NEWS

When the Range Rover was introduced 45 years ago, it changed the way the world went off-road. Over the years, it has come to represent the very height of British design. Keep up with the latest Range Rover developments as they happen.

© 2016 Jaguar Land Rover Canada ULC

Fuel estimates are based on Government of Canada's new 5 cycle testing methods. Actual fuel consumption may vary. Refer to the Government of Canada Fuel Consumption Guide.

HISTOIRE DES INNOVATIONS

Au cours des 45 dernières années, Range Rover s'est démarqué comme l'un des pionniers de l'industrie pour devenir le véhicule de luxe inimitable que l'on connaît aujourd'hui.

TOUT PREMIER VUS DE LUXE

Le Range Rover original était le premier 4x4 conçu pour performer aussi bien sur la route qu'hors route. Il a fait passer les 4x4 des sentiers boueux aux autoroutes.

PREMIER VÉHICULE DOTÉ DE L'ANTIPATINAGE ÉLECTRONIQUE

Le Range Rover est le premier 4x4 au monde doté de l'antipatinage électronique.

PREMIER VUS HYBRIDE À MOTEUR DIESEL HORS DU COMMUN

Avec une efficacité énergétique exceptionnelle et des émissions de CO2 de 26 % inférieures à celles du moteur diesel TDV6, le VUS hybride à moteur diesel de Range Rover est devenu le premier de sa catégorie à l'échelle mondiale.

PREMIER VUS TOUT EN ALUMINUM

La quatrième génération de Range Rover est celle des premiers VUS en aluminium du monde.

CULTURE

CULTURE

UNE OEUVRE D'ART

Peu après son lancement en 1970, le Range Rover a été le premier véhicule exposé au Louvre pour « l'excellence de son design industriel ».

CULTURE

CULTURE

UNE VEDETTE DU CINÉMA

Les Range Rover sont apparus dans 1 433 films et émissions télévisées, y compris quatre films James Bond 007 : Octopussy (1983), Tuer n'est pas jouer (1987), Demain ne meurt jamais (1997) et Skyfall (2012).

CULTURE

CULTURE

LE CHOIX DES CONNAISSEURS

Les célébrités propriétaires de Range Rover comprennent Sa Majesté la Reine, le musicien Bruce Springsteen, l'ancien Beatle Paul McCartney, le sportif Michael Jordan et l'acteur Tom Cruise.

CULTURE

CULTURE

ET LE CHOIX DES CRITIQUES

La quatrième génération de Range Rover s'est vu attribuer plus de 80 titres, y compris celui de voiture de luxe de l'année, par What Car? et de meilleur VUS de luxe, par Edmunds.com et Forbes.

/

En 1970, le Range Rover était le premier VUS de luxe au monde et 45 ans plus tard, il continue d'ouvrir la voie. Le plus récent modèle est le plus attrayant et sophistiqué jamais conçu, alliant un confort hors pair à une technologie de pointe, pour offrir le nec plus ultra des véhicules de luxe.

NICK ROGERS Directeur, Global Engineering Operations de Jaguar Land Rover

QUATRE GÉNÉRATIONS

QUATRE GÉNÉRATIONS

QUATRIÈME GÉNÉRATION - MODÈLE ACTUEL

L'actuel modèle Range Rover a été le premier VUS du monde doté d'une carrosserie entièrement en aluminium.



L'an dernier, le Range Rover est devenu le premier véhicule proposant le contrôle de progression en tout-terrain (ATPC), un système innovateur de Land Rover – une technologie inédite conçue pour améliorer la capacité hors route en maintenant automatiquement une vitesse ultra-lente en présence d'obstacles, ce qui permet au conducteur de se concentrer sur la maîtrise du véhicule.



La quatrième génération du Range Rover est aussi pourvue de l'empattement long superbement conçu et aménagé qu'on reconnaît immédiatement.

QUATRE GÉNÉRATIONS

QUATRE GÉNÉRATIONS

TROISIÈME GÉNÉRATION (2001 À 2012)

L'arrivée du Range Rover de troisième génération a apporté avec elle des améliorations appréciables par rapport à la génération précédente, à tous les points de vue. Plus grand et plus spacieux, l'intérieur s'inspire du design des yachts haut de gamme, du mobilier de qualité et des sièges d'avion de première classe. Il en est résulté un intérieur parmi les plus luxueux du monde entier.


Sur le plan technologique, les points saillants comprenaient, en 2010, l'ajout d'instruments 'virtuels'. Il était aussi devenu le premier véhicule à présenter un écran d'infodivertissement à affichage double, qui permettait au conducteur de suivre de près les instructions de navigation pendant que le passager visionnait un DVD. À mesure que la technologie avançait, la gamme de Range Rover de troisième génération s'élargissait. Il y eut d'abord le moteur à essence V8 suralimenté de 4,2 L en 2005, puis le moteur diesel TDV8 en 2006, suivi du tout nouveau moteur à essence V8 de 5,0 L trois ans plus tard.

QUATRE GÉNÉRATIONS

QUATRE GÉNÉRATIONS

DEUXIÈME GÉNÉRATION - P38a (1994 à 2001)

Le Range Rover de deuxième génération ou le P38A – ainsi nommé parce qu'il a été créé dans l'édifice 38A à l'usine de Solihull au Royaume-Uni – est arrivé en 1994 doté d'un intérieur encore plus luxueux ainsi que d'une agilité sur route et d'une capacité hors route encore plus grandes que ceux de son prédécesseur. Des caractéristiques clés l'ont rendu immédiatement reconnaissable en tant que Range Rover, et la silhouette emblématique, le toit flottant, le capot en coquille, le hayon divisé pratique et la taille élancée le distinguent encore de nos jours.


Sur le plan technologique, les points saillants comprennent l'ajout d'une suspension réglable en hauteur et une gamme de moteurs améliorée, dont un moteur diesel de 2,5 L ainsi que des moteurs V8 à essence de 3,9 L et 4,6 L, qui fournissent une performance plus remarquable que jamais.

QUATRE GÉNÉRATIONS

QUATRE GÉNÉRATIONS

PREMIÈRE GÉNÉRATION - CLASSIC (1970 à 1994)

L'histoire du Range Rover a commencé au cours des années soixante-dix, alors que Land Rover cherchait à révolutionner le marché en expansion des 4x4 de loisir avec le tout premier VUS de luxe. Le modèle de première génération, appelé Classic et initialement seulement offert en version deux-portes, a été mis en marché en 1970; il était doté d'un moteur V8 en aluminium léger, de quatre routes motrices à prise permanente et de freins à disques sur toutes les roues. Au cours des 25 années de vie, de nombreuses variantes et améliorations ont été présentées, y compris l'ajout d'un modèle à quatre portes en 1981 et d'une boîte de vitesses automatique en 1982.


Les innovations se sont poursuivies à un rythme soutenu. Le premier Range Rover à moteur diesel est arrivé en 1986 et en 1989, il devenait le premier 4x4 du monde à offrir des freins antiblocage. Puis en 1992, une autre première avait lieu dans le monde des VUS, soit l'introduction sur le marché de l'antipatinage électronique et de la suspension pneumatique électronique avec contrôle automatique.

/

EXPÉDITIONS

EXPÉDITIONS

TRAVERSÉE DU DARIEN GAP (1972)

Le Range Rover original de 1970 combinait une excellente maniabilité sur route, un luxe raffiné ainsi qu'une capacité tout-terrain sans compromis. Les générations suivantes ont maintenu son statut de chef de file sur le marché des VUS de luxe en termes de capacité et d'attrait. En 1972, il devient le premier véhicule à terminer une expédition transaméricaine de 29 000 km, organisée par l'armée britannique, qui inclut la traversée périlleuse du Darien Gap en Amérique du Sud. Elle est suivie en 1974 par la traversée du désert du Sahara lors d'un raid épique de 12 000 km en 100 jours.

EXPÉDITIONS

EXPÉDITIONS

TRAVERSÉE DU DÉSERT DU SAHARA (1974)

La réputation du Range Rover en termes de capacité tout-terrain prodigieuse a été consolidée par un grand nombre de tests d'endurance de haut niveau. Le succès du Darien Gap a été suivi, en 1974, par une expédition épique de 12 000 km en 100 jours dans le désert du Sahara.

EXPÉDITIONS

EXPÉDITIONS

MARATHON LONDRES-SYDNEY (1977)

En 1977, le Range Rover a consolidé sa réputation en termes de capacité en remportant la victoire du marathon de 30 000 km Londres-Sydney dans la catégorie des véhicules 4x4.

EXPÉDITIONS

EXPÉDITIONS

RALLYE PARIS-DAKAR (1979 ET 1981)

En 1979, le Range Rover fut le vainqueur du tout premier rallye Paris-Dakar et le remporta de nouveau en 1981. Puis, en 1985, le Range Rover Diesel 'Bullet' bat 27 records de vitesse, ce qui démontre ses capacités étendues et sa polyvalence.

EXPÉDITIONS

EXPÉDITIONS

ROUTE DE LA SOIE (2013)

Trois Range Rover hybrides ont prouvé leur endurance en traversant la route de la soie, un périple de 16 000 km du Royaume-Uni jusqu'en Inde.

/

RANGE ROVER

Le summum du raffinement

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS AFIN DE RECEVOIR LES DERNIÈRES NOUVELLES DU RANGE ROVER

Quand le Range Rover a été introduit sur le marché il y a 45 ans, le monde du tout-terrain a changé. Au fil des ans, il a fini par représenter le summum du design britannique. Tenez-vous au courant des plus récents développements du Range Rover.

© 2016 Jaguar Land Rover Canada ULC

Les estimations de consommation de carburant sont établies selon les nouvelles méthodes d’essai à 5 cycles du gouvernement du Canada. La consommation réelle de carburant peut varier. Veuillez consulter le Guide de consommation de carburant du gouvernement du Canada.